Български English Facebook

Golden Rose Bulgarian Feature Film Festival 2017 Awards

Feature Film Jury:

President: Prof. Bojidar Manov, film critic, journalist, teacher

and Jury members:

Yana Marinova, actress; Ludmil Stanev, writer/screenwriter/playwright; Georgi Toshev, journalist/producer and Prof. Stanimir Trifonov, director;

Short Film Jury:

President: Martina Vachkova, actress

and Jury members:

Genoveva Dimitrova, film critic, and Dimitar Kotzev – Shosho, director,

Watching the full competition programme of feature and short films and holding the due debates, decided to

Bestow as follows: 

The Short Film Jury:

Golden Rose Award for Best Short Film goes to

Sunflower Spaceship 1

by Vasil Goranov for a cinematographic blast, emotional magic and unbridled daring.

The Jury gave two Special Mentions to 

Hole by Jonathan Heidelberger

for its gently told story with excitingly represented characters;

Nights of a Lonely Messenger by Andrey Koulev

for visual brilliance.


The Feature Film Jury:

Golden Rose Award for Best Feature Film goes to

Omnipresent, producers: Matey Konstantinov, Ilian Djevelekov, Georgi Dimitrov – Miramar Film; director: Ilian Djevelekov; writers: Matey Konstantinov, Ilian Djevelekov; director of photography: Emil Christov

The eye of the omnipresent camera exposes the lonely human soul in a cold world of breakthrough technologies.

This year’s winner of Golden Rose 2017 Award for Best Feature Film receives Danny Lerner Award (€50,000 in services and €5,000 in cash) provided by Nu Boyana Film Studios for the production of their next feature project.

The Jury also gave Special Jury Award to

Directions, producers: Stephan Komandarev, Katya Trichkova – Argo Film; director: Stephan Komandarev; writers: Simeon Ventsislavov, Stephan Komandarev; director of photography: Vesselin Hristov

The film crosses with anguish the directions of a slice of life in Bulgaria that leads from the dramas of everyday existence to terminals 1 and 2 for international departures.

Special Award of the City of Varna goes to

Enemies, producers: Svetla Tsotsorkova, Svetoslav Ovcharov – Omega Films; director/writer: Svetoslav Ovcharov; director of photography: Rali Ralchev; set designer: Georgi Todorov; costume designer: Elena Stoianova

The film reenacts a historical episode by telling moving, real-life stories.

Best Director Award goes to

на ¾ by Ilian Metev;

Best Screenwriter Award goes to

Teodora Markova, Georgi Ivanov, Nevena Kertova, Teo Chepilov for Bubblegum; 

Best Cinematographer Award goes to

Nenad Boroevich for Light Thereafter;

Best Actress Award goes to

Teodora Duhovnikova for her role in Omnipresent

Irini Jambonas for her role in Directions;

Best Actor Award goes to

Velislav Pavlov for his role in Omnipresent;

Best Feature Film Debut goes to

Radiogram by Rouzie Hassanova.

The Jury gave a Special Mention to

– director Yassen Grigorov and the creative team behind Lilly The little Fish  

for their noble efforts in the delicate field of children’s film.

This year Tatiana Lolova receives the 2017 Golden Rose Award for lifetime achievement.

At the 35th edition of Golden Rose Festival of Bulgarian Feature Film, awards were also given as follows:

The Union of Bulgarian Filmmakers Award to Vasil Goranov

for Sunflower Spaceship 1;

The Critics Guild Award (UBF) to feature film Omnipresent by Ilian Djevelekov and the short Snails by Albena Puneva;

Peoples Choice Award to Omnipresent by Ilian Djevelekov;

Accredited Journalists’ Award to Directions by Stephan Komandarev.